Zucchini Muffins

Fresh zucchinis!

We’ve been waiting all summer to harvest zucchinis and we finally got to pick some (you’ve probably noticed zucchinis sneaking in to recipes lately). One of my automatic go-to recipes for zucchinis is my mom’s zucchini bread. It’s moist and delicious and easy to veganize. So you can imagine my excitement when I pulled these babies out of the oven and popped a muffin in my mouth. Only to find out …. they were not sweet AT ALL. In my excitement, I forgot to add the sugar 😦 They’re definitely still edible, and Will actually likes them better; he called them “healthy.” But I still think next time I’ll try to remember and add the sugar! I added a little soymilk to the batter because it seemed awfully dry. I’m not sure if this is because I used part whole wheat flour or because I forgot about the sugar. If you do remember the sugar, and find your batter is a good consistency, feel free to leave out the soy milk.

Zucchini Muffins

  • 1 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 c. sugar (!!)
  • 1 c. finely shredded unpeeled zucchini
  • 1 mashed banana (optional; I had one over-ripe so I decided to throw it in)
  • 1 egg replacer = to 1 egg (I used EnerG Egg Replacer)
  • 1/4 c. canola oil
  • 2 Tbsp. soy milk

In a mixing bowl stir together flours, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, and baking powder; set aside. In a mixing bowl, blend together sugar, zucchini, egg replacer, banana, and oil. Stir flour mixture into zucchini mixture. Add soy milk if needed. Divide batter in 12 muffin tins (lined). Bake in a 350°F oven for 14 minutes or till a wooden pick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool on cooling rack. (For a loaf of bread, bake 50-60 minutes).

"Healthy" muffins

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

