Black Bean Burgers

Last night I was in the mood for burgers. I love the black bean burgers from Chili’s, but always end up feeling gross after eating there because of their heavy hand with the salt shaker. So, I decided to make my own! I am really excited about these burgers because I came up with the recipe all on my own and I think it turned out great. I also whipped up a batch of speedy hamburger buns and baked french fry wedges (coated in chili seasoning).

Burgers after baking

Black Bean Burgers

makes about 6 burgers

  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • salt and pepper
  • egg replacer = to 1 egg (I used EnerG Egg Replacer)
  • 1/2 c. oats
  • a few pinches of cilantro
  • up to 1/2 c. flour

Mash beans in a bowl, leaving a few of them whole. In a blender, process onions and garlic. When you achieve a fairly small dice, drain the onions and garlic in a mesh strainer and squeeze out as much liquid as possible. Do the same with the shredded carrots. Add to mashed beans, along with spices, egg replacer, oats, and cilantro. Use your hands to mush everything together. It will be really sticky at this point. Slowly add flour, a little at a time, until the burger mixture is less sticky but still sticks together well. I added just a little less than 1/2 cup. Preheat oven to 375°F and spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Also spray your hands lightly to form the mixture into patties. Bake for 10 minutes, then flip the burgers and bake another 10 minutes.

Burger & Fries

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

