Easy Vegan Waffles

When I was in college, I worked at a law firm. Right before I left for grad school, some of my co-workers had a going away party for me. A lot of them gave me little mementos to remember them by but one that seemed to stand out was a waffle iron. At this point in my life, I wasn’t much into cooking (they recognized my voice when I called in for take-out at my favorite Thai restaurant) and I couldn’t think of any reason I’d need/want a waffle iron. It’s the thought that counts, though, so I stowed the waffle iron away in a “kitchen tools” box and it headed down to the bayou with us. At some point, the iron made it out of the box and onto my counter. And as it turns out, you really don’t need to be much of a cook to use a waffle iron 🙂 The unexpected little gadget has been helping me make delicious vegan brunches for years now. Here’s the recipe I use – it couldn’t be quicker and easier to remember ….

Easy Vegan Waffles

  • 1 c. flour
  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 Tbsp. syrup
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder

Whisk all ingredients. Pour batter into waffle iron; indicator light tells when they are ready (approx. 3 minutes).

Couldn’t be easier, right? I usually double the recipe because these freeze really well. I’ll also spice things up by adding blueberries or chocolate chips to the batter. Serve with margarine and maple syrup.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

