Weekend Wings

My partner is a huge fan of hot sauce (I must be specific – Louisiana Hot Sauce; no Tabasco for him!). And by huge, I mean he pours it on everything … sometimes even oatmeal (eww). I, on the other hand, am not such a fan of the vinegary heat provided by hot sauce. Nevertheless, I have a new favorite tradition: weekend wings, smothered in buttery Louisiana hot sauce. We’ve been following this tradition for a few months now (not every weekend, we’re not crazy!) and I keep challenging him to up the ante on how much hot sauce we put in … we’re up to about 4 Tbsp.

The reason weekend wings have become such a tradition at my house is because of this recipe for Vegan Buffalo Wings. It is am-az-ing. Seriously. The coconut milk batter results in the most delicious wings. I also like this recipe and our weekend tradition because it means Will and I can team cook, which is always fun. We set up a little assembly line where I do the dipping and he does the frying (we don’t deep fry these, just pan fry them with oil). It’s a bonding experience 🙂

This time, instead of tofu, we used seitan (left over from this batch) for the “wings”. The texture was good (firm and “meaty”) but we both concurred that we like the taste of tofu wings much better. The tofu seemed to soak up more of the coconut milk batter than the seitan did. A good experiment, but it’s back to the original for next time!

This isn’t the best picture, but you get the idea. Delicious!

We sometimes make the cool dipping sauce from the blog, but as I’ve mentioned before, I rarely have vegan mayo on hand. Usually the sauce I whip up is a combo of vegan sour cream (Tofutti Sour Supreme), sometimes with vegan cream cheese (again Tofutti), dried dill, dried parsley, thyme, and garlic powder, finely minced garlic, lots of pepper, and 1-2 chopped green onions. I also like to make homemade french fries to accompany the wings (2-3 smaller Russet potatoes cut fry-style, and tossed simply in olive oil, sea salt, and freshly ground black pepper. Roast at 425 F for about 20-25 minutes). I can’t wait for next weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Weekend Wings

  1. Megan

    Sounds like fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

