Never Buy Hamburger Buns Again!

Part I: Burgers!

To me, summertime equals firing up the grill, a nice cold summer beer (your favorite lager mixed with lemonade – a delicious invention by my twin sister), and eating on the patio. When most people decide to grill out, they turn to burgers or hot dogs; vegans are no exception. I was recently in the mood for a veggie burger and decided to use chickpeas as the base. After searching around on the Internet, I remembered a recipe recently posted on one of my favorite blogs, (never home) maker. I stuck with the recipe, found here, except for the fact that I used a jalapeno pepper instead of a green chili pepper (in my mind, they’re all the same = hot!). I ended up making about 8 smaller burgers. Due to lack of charcoal I did bake these, but I’m sure they’d be equally good grilled up outside.

I served the burgers with French Potato Salad and a summer beer. I was excited to find a recipe for potato salad that didn’t call for vegan mayo (which I love, but can’t find anywhere in my town). The recipe was okay, but could probably use some tweaking – including cutting down on the oil to maybe 1/4 cup.

Part II: Homemade Hamburger Buns!

I’m not a big fan of those dry, crumbly hamburger buns you buy in eight-packs at the store. They’re pretty tasteless and you always have some left over. I love homemade bread and we would usually buy delicious little buns from a local grocery store. Unfortunately, they recently closed down and I’ve been hunting for the perfect burger bun ever since. But then I decided to try making my own … which was the best idea I’ve had in a long time! This recipe was so easy and quick to prepare and left the kitchen smelling amazing. I was very happy with how they turned out; Will thought they were a little heavy. I may need to adjust the amount of kneading when I make these again. The recipe can be found here. To veganize these buns, I used a flax “egg”. To equal one egg, just beat (with a wire whisk) 3 Tbsp. water into 2 1/2 Tbsp. ground flax seed. The mixture will get really gelatinous and makes for an excellent egg replacer in baked goods (plus, you know, omega 3 fatty acids and all those healthy benefits).

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Never Buy Hamburger Buns Again!

  1. Megan

    While I love the twin shout-out, I do have to give credit for the summer beer to a local place in Manhattan, KS: Rock-a-Belly Bar & Deli, home of the first (of many!) summer beer I’ve ever had. They also add a shot of vodka in to spice things up 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Healthy Breakfast « Vegan Cooks

  3. I am so glad you enjoyed the recipe! And, I am very glad to hear that the flax egg worked. I get lots of vegan inquiries on this recipe and thus far only knew that Ener-G worked. I will put a link to your post so people can see the flax egg option too!

  4. Pingback: One Frugal Foodie » Homemade Hamburger Buns in a Jiffy

  5. Thanks, Alisa! I loved the recipe and am glad I could help with the veganization 🙂

  6. Pingback: Black Bean Burgers « Vegan Cooks

  7. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyhow, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  8. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

  9. I think you should change your article title to “Home Made Buns!”. It looks good from the picture. Nice to read the recipe.

  10. uglicoyote

    Reblogged this on Vegan Coyote.

  11. Pingback: Never Buy Hamburger Buns Again! | Vegan Cooks | Vegan Coyote

  12. Whatever happens competition to crawl the entire article.
    Most pages will also use this type of work, but these companies is more to it your website.

  13. When I originally left a comment I appear to have
    clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on whenever a
    comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  14. What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It
    positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to give a
    contribution & help other users like its helped me.
    Great job.

  15. Maintain balance between quality images and download time.
    Present precise and simple navigation – You could surely gather extra rewards from organized as
    when compawred to onne that includes a large amount of blunder.
    Could the UFO photos which were deletdd from your NASA Johnson Center website been exactly the samje extraterrestrial
    vehicle seen by Mc – Clelland.

  16. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good results. If you know of any please share.

    Appreciate it!

  17. always i used to read smaller articles or
    reviews that also clear their motive, and that is also
    happening with this piece of writing which I
    am reading at this place.

  18. I’m very pleased to discover this website. I want to to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely savored every bit of it and i also have you book marked to see new information in your web site.

  19. I fought it alll the way and had myself checked by aan ENT (ear nose and throat) doctor.

    However, if the diabetic experiences recurring low blood glucose
    levels levels, abnormal, oor extreme side results of low blookd sugar levels levels, it iis crucial forr them to consult physician immediately.
    Alcoholism and ovber consumption of fast and processed foods lowers
    blood sugar levels level.

  20. I am truly thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this
    wonderful article at at this time.

  21. Your style is very unique in comparison to other
    folks I have read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you have the
    opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this web site.

  22. Thanks for every other informative web site. Where else may I am getting that type of information written in such a perfect approach?
    I’ve a challenge that I’m simply now working on, and I have
    been at the glance out for such information.

  23. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do
    I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to
    this.

  24. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your
    blog and will come back sometime soon. I want to
    encourage you to continue your great work, have a nice day!

  25. Also, try getting one piece of white flannel and immerse
    it in warm Castor oil. In fact, use of nidora in such
    food items which the dieter feel fuller from stomach very soon and he or she doesn’t feel hungry for more number of hours even if he or she performs extra physical workouts.
    Click on and Visit the web site below for more information about shoulder pain relief.

  26. No real matter what the summer season, taking a seaside holiday is actually an enjoyable and
    enjoyable action to take. There are various remarkable
    spots throughout the world to select from.

  27. Pingback: Homemade Wheat Hamburger Buns - No Rise Recipe

Leave a Reply

