A New Direction

Some of you may have noticed, as my friend Lisa kindly pointed out today, that it’s been awhile since I’ve last posted. Though I don’t want to rely on all sorts of excuses, I will try to explain. As per usual, when things like blogs get neglected, life and work have consistently gotten in the way and kept me otherwise engaged. The biggest reason, however, is related to the original mission of this blog.

With some regret (and, if I can be honest, a little bit of shame, too), I am bringing the vegan cookbook challenge to an end. What started out as a fun hobby has turned into a frustrating experience. And this is something I definitely did not want to happen — I like cooking too much and I really didn’t want to start dreading it. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I live in a small town. This can make searching for ingredients (especially all natural and vegan) rather difficult. The Veganomicon authors did consider this issue, and marked some recipes as using only “normal” ingredients (i.e. easily accessible in regular grocery stores) for cooks like me to quickly pick out. This was a help, for sure, but I still found it troublesome to find all the ingredients I needed on a regular basis. Additionally, the cost of buying so many new ingredients each week was really causing a strain on our budget. Even with my pantry filled with most of the staples mentioned in the cookbook, I still found myself having to run to Giant Eagle every few days to pick something up. I know that the best cooks usually rely on innovation, but I felt that deviating too far from the recipe would be going against the idea of a cookbook challenge.

So, for all of those reasons, I have decided to mark this particular challenge a failure. However, I’m still cooking and making awesome meals that I would love to share. So my new plan, and the new direction of this blog, is still to chronicle what we cook and eat; this time, though, I’ll be linking to recipes around the web, sharing information on my favorite cookbooks (which will, no doubt, include Veganomicon), and even posting some of my own recipes. Please let me know if you have any other thoughts on how I can make this blog more useful … and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

