Potato Latkes with Horseradish Dill Sour Cream

We’ve been getting a lot of snow in southwest PA, so I was looking for something cozy and warm to make and potato latkes sounded perfect. This was my first attempt making Jewish food so I was a little nervous, but they were so easy to make and absolutely delicious! There are actually quite a few Jewish foods that translate well into vegan, especially the Kosher products. I’m also excited to discover matzo meal; I rarely find prepared bread crumbs that don’t have milk, but after making these latkes I am now sure that matzo can replace bread crumbs anytime. These little babies were delicious and we enjoyed them for several days.

The sour cream, on the other hand, was not so good. I should have known the results might not turn out well since I started off the cooking process by spilling apple cider vinegar all over myself and the floor …. My main complaint about this dip is that it tastes too tofuy. I usually love tofu, but the flavor was just too chalky in this. I think next time I would just mix horseradish and dill in Tofutti Sour Supreme and be much happier. I ended up eating the potato latkes with thousand island dressing, which was a good choice.

Recipe: Potato Latkes (pg 54) and Horseradish Dill Sour Cream (pg 208)

Rating: 5/5 for the latkes and 2/5 for the dip

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

